Election Night 2016

I had decided the day before the election to go ahead and get on the “Trump Train,” though I believed this train could crash; I didn’t know where it may go; and I knew that it would travel fast. I wanted the risk, the excitement of something brand new, and the promise of a brand new day. Above all, I desired the security of knowing what was going on in Europe would not be permitted to happen here.

I figured out where I was required to vote from a website set up for this purpose. To vote in the last place I was registered required my driving an hour out of my way since I was working in Princeton that day. But the drive was more than entertaining, as I toggled between several different stations where excited talk radio hosts routinely discussed every detail of a most unconventional election. I wondered to myself what Trump’s next move would be if he did not win. Suggestions were offered by analysts on the same track.

No one seemed to have a clue what to expect. It was such an exciting time, culminating in a quiet evening at home with my cat, watching election results unfold via free web streaming on CNN.com. I always had a strong inclination this questionable Republican candidate would be the winner, though I wasn’t sure why. When the first results came in, showing he had won the first 2 states, I knew we were in for an interesting night. That interesting night is now history.

In the comfort of my New Jersey apartment, I created what I called a “republican party,” using the conversation mode on my handset, with a few other Michiganders I knew were alone for the evening, and were watching the election coverage as I was.

I found it quite amusing that Wayne county Michigan kept coming back into focus as a location with a great deal of votes to offer. Prior to this, I had seen my home town merely as the boon-dock place where I grew up. My brother made jokes via our makeshift texting group that the entire vote was hinging on the response of Melvindale.

Significant also in Wayne county in the last few years has been the town of Dearborn, a place where I have lived previously, and gone to school. It is a national center of interest now due to holding the largest concentration of Muslims in America. But for me it also conjures fond memories of rollerblading down Michigan Avenue and Oak Street, and holding the distinction of being the only person (I’m pretty sure) to ever roller-blade through the Dearborn Inn (at the dare of a friend who quietly waited outside). I was much crazier then. Later that evening we climbed up the wall surrounding the historic Greenfield Village and sat undetected on its pre-9/11 under-secured surveillance.

The excitement on election night in America, as it became obvious that our guy was going to win, was tangible. I shifted between several news stations, and could not sleep, resolving to stay up and see his acceptanceTrump prt sc.png speech, whereby he promised all our talents would be put to use. I wondered what “The Donald” would consider my talents to be. Between media announcements of states that he had won, I traveled over to Ebay to purchase Trump T-Shirts as Christmas gifts for my family and myself, scanning the merchandise as quickly as possible, as I was sure the prices would go up after tonight.

Suddenly it all seemed right. This unlikely candidate having rose to the highest level of leadership was like a divine appointment. There is a Scripture which says it is God who puts leaders in power (Rom. 13:1). As is often communicated through Biblical scholars, God has a tendency to use unlikely candidates in this world to do His work.

All that we have seen, which I assume will be made into a movie or very interesting documentary one day, was more than just coincidence. Our omnipresent, omniscient, and omnipotent God was behind it all. And no matter where this train may be headed, I for one am resting today with a sense that a midst a maelstrom of media chatter, Trump, even with his obvious flaws, belongs to God; the future is in His hands; and we who were alive to actively engage in this entire phenomenon, were born for such a time as this.

71iabjpoazl-_ac_ul200_sr160200_41lticfrpyl-_ac_sr160200_41a65ae54hl-_ac_sr160200_61sodygtijl-_ac_ul200_sr160200_41yxmdp0el-_ac_sr160200_

Leave a Reply

